Queries and communications on the subject of patents of precedence may now be emailed to the LSRA on [email protected]

This follows the establishment by the Authority of the Advisory Committee on the grant of Patents of Precedence at its meeting on 2 April 2020.

Under the Legal Services Regulation Act 2015, the Advisory Committee is required to establish the criteria, based on objectives set out in the Act, to be met by a legal practitioner in order for a recommendation to be made by the Advisory Committee to the Government that a Patent of Precedence be granted to him or her.

The grant of a Patent of Precedence, in relation to a barrister, entitles him or her to be called to the Inner Bar and to use the title of ‘Senior Counsel’ and in relation to a solicitor, entitles him or her to use the title of ‘Senior Counsel’.

The Advisory Committee consists of:

  • The Chief Justice (Chairperson of the Committee),
  • The President of the Court of Appeal,
  • The President of the High Court,
  • The Attorney General,
  • The Chairperson of the Bar Council,
  • The President of the Law Society and
  •  Dr Don Thornhill, a lay member of the Authority (and its chair) nominated by the Minister for Justice and Equality.
    The Legal Services Regulatory Authority Executive are engaging with the Chief Justice and, last month, submitted draft framework documentation required by the Advisory Committee.

This website will be further updated as soon as additional information is available.